New Zealand suspends direct flights with 9 countries due to the Omicron mutant

Today, Saturday, New Zealand decided to stop direct flights with 9 African countries, with the exception of transporting its citizens, and to classify these countries as "high risk", as a result of the new (Omicron) mutant of the Corona virus.

The New Zealand newspaper "New Zealand Herald" reported that the government classified 9 African countries on the list of high-risk countries and suspended direct flights.

Excluding the return of New Zealand citizens from them, and included both South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique.

Earlier in the day, New Zealand Minister of Health Chris Hepkins reassured his citizens, saying, "So far, no cases of carrying the (Omicron) mutant of the emerging corona virus have been detected, although the verification of this matter is still in the early stages."

He added, "Our understanding of the omicron variant is still in its early stages, and we are confident that this mutant has not yet entered New Zealand. Hundreds of cases have been monitored at the border in recent months and they have been placed in isolation, and their complete genome sequence has been identified, and it has been confirmed that they all carry delta axis.

The ban imposed by New Zealand came after the World Health Organization confirmed the emergence of a new mutant, called "Omicron".

It has a higher risk of infection than any other variant of the virus, because it can modify itself up to 30 times, which means it can spread quickly.